Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Home > Ménestrel Editions > Mapping the Medieval World > Resources

Resources

  • Grants, rights of use and of distribution

    You will find here the own resources provided by Ménestrel for this mapping project. All of them are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 2.0 France License.

    The base maps with elements of relief have been found on the CGIAR’s website. The other were produced basing on data of the Diva-Gis’s website.

    7 October 2013 | 28 December 2012
    top of the page
  • Bishoprics and archbishoprics (Europe)

    Bishoprics and archbishoprics

    As a first example of what this section aims at offering, you will find here the list of European medieval (arch)bishoprics with their geographical coordinates, the date of their creation and (if appropriate) their displacement or deletion. For the Italian area, this work owes much to Hugues Labarthe, who is especially the builder of the project "Towards an Atlas of Roman Christianity" on the site E-ecclesia.eu.

    About various dates of the Middle Ages, the available files are:

    - Shapefiles (SHP), which can be imported directly into a GIS processing software;
    - As examples of a result, JPG files and PDF files (this second type of file is heavier than the first one, but it may be easily modified without using GIS processing software).
    Since Italian bishoprics are very numerous, we propose specific maps for this peninsula.

    Year 500 800 1100 1400
    shapefile (bishoprics) 500 800 1100 1400
    shapefile (archbishoprics) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Europe, JPG) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Europe, PDF) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Italy, JPG) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Italy, PDF) 500 800 1100 1400

    About other dates, a user can use the data source as an Excel spreadsheet covering the entire period of the Middle Ages: with this file, he may easily make another selection and thus produce GIS data corresponding to his date of interest. To create a map with these customized data, see the brief instructions on GIS software.

    As for now, only the (arch)bishoprics located within the territory of modern Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland and United Kingdom are referenced. Similarly, the landscape elements which are represented (coasts, rivers, topography) are those of today. For more information about the data, see the corresponding metadata (in french). Many developments are still possible to improve this section...

    Thomas LIENHARD, Willy MORICE, 21 April 2016 | 23 October 2012
    top of the page
  • Bishoprics (Africa)

    You will find here a historical mapping of African bishops in Antiquity and the Middle Ages. As for Europe, we offer both historical data (dates for which those bishoprics are attested) and spatial information. For these two types of data, the results which are proposed are less precise than for Europe and very incomplete, firstly because it is a work in progress and secondly because given the available sources, we can never claim to accuracy, nor seek to map all African bishoprics attested before the sixteenth century. The full list of these is available in this database. At present, only 10% of these items were treated in this section. But we are still working...

    Map of the African bishoprics

    shapefile jpg (with colours corresponding to the bishopric’s latest quote)
    Thomas LIENHARD, 29 April 2016 | 21 April 2016
    top of the page
  • Collegiate churches

    You will find here mapping data about secular collegiate churches which were founded between 600 and 1500 AD. The selected area is the dioceses of France during the Ancien Régime. These data come from the “Collégiales” project of the Lamop, whose authors generously provided us with the data; their website will provide more information, in particular about each entity mapped here.

    Since the density of collegiate churches can be very high, it is difficult to include the name of each of them on a map at the European level. We therefore chose not to display this information. But the shapefiles that are proposed below contain this information, so that every user can choose his own display options. Similarly, by looking the source data, he can easily select other dates than those we used here, and produce GIS data corresponding to his own period of interest. For all these operations, see the brief instructions on GIS software.

    Year 1000 1150 1300 1550
    shapefile SHP1000 SHP1150 SHP1300 SHP1550
    image (JPG) JPG1000 JPG1150 JPG1300 JPG1550
    image (PDF) PDF1000 PDF1150 PDF1300 PDF1550
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 April 2016 | 22 May 2013
    top of the page
  • Fortifications of Eastern France

    You will find here mapping data about fortifications which were built between 500 and 1600 AD in Eastern France and studied by the Pôle Archéologique Universitaire of the université de Lorraine. These data were generously provided by the managers of the website Image – Itinéraire Médiéval des sites Archéologiques du Grand Est médiéval, where you will find more data and information on this project.

    Castles

    shapefile jpg

    Fortified Houses

    shapefile jpg
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 April 2016 | 8 April 2016
    top of the page
  • Antique sites

    You will find here mapping data about antique sites: aqueducts, baths, bridges, cities, forts, temples, theatres and vici. Those data are furnished by the website vici.org, where you will find more data and information on this project. They have been completed by Armin Volkmann and Thomas Lienhard. As they are very numerous, it is impossible to present all of them clearly on an overview map of the Mediterranean world. We therefore chose to focus only on the Gallic space in the jpg-maps below (except for the forts, for which the focus is further restricted on a part of the Rhine-Danube limes). But the shapefiles provided below contain all the data about Europe, Africa and Asia. All sites are from classical Antiquity, but no more precise date is given here: to get it about any site, consult the notice about the latter on vici.org.

    Aqueducts

    shapefile jpg

    Baths

    shapefile jpg

    Bridges

    shapefile jpg

    Cities

    shapefile jpg

    Forts

    shapefile jpg

    Temples

    shapefile jpg

    Theatres

    shapefile jpg

    Vici

    shapefile jpg
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 April 2016 | 8 April 2016
    top of the page
  • Territories

    Usually, it makes little sense to cartography medieval territories in GIS format: the extreme precision of GIS is not compatible with the elusive nature of our sources about borders or surfaces, and therefore it is better to cartography historical points (such as bishoprics ), excluding lines (such as dioceses). However, we have decided to offer a few such data for the convenience of the user, because it may be convenient to have a map of provinces or kingdoms that can be superimposed with the data proposed above in this page. However, anyone who wishes to use these maps of territories has to remember that the accuracy of these representations is not scientific, and it takes with a margin of error of about 20 km. For the eastern borders of the Frankish world, the inaccuracy is even stronger.

    Whereby data are provided as shapefiles, which are directly importable into a GIS software. For each dossier, we also propose a pdf and jpg file, as well as bibliographical references: these were a basis, but have been thoroughly revised in order to produce the result which is proposed here.

    title pdf file jpg file shapefile source
    Roman provinces of Gaul of the mid-5th C. PDF450 JPG450 SHP450 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Atlas général d’histoire et de géographie (1894), p. 18
    Frankish kingdoms at Clovis’ death (511) PDF511 JPG511 SHP511 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Ibid., p. 21
    Frankish kingdoms in 524 PDF524 JPG524 SHP524 Eugen Ewig, “Die fränkischen Teilungen und Teilreiche (511-613)”, in Id., Spätantikes und fränkisches Gallien, 1976, vol.1, p. 72-113
    Frankish kingdoms in 531 PDF531 JPG531 SHP531 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 534 PDF534 JPG534 SHP534 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 536 PDF536 JPG536 SHP536 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 555 PDF555 JPG555 SHP555 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 558 PDF558 JPG558 SHP558 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 561 PDF561 JPG561 SHP561 Auguste Longnon, Géographie de la Gaule au VIe siècle (1878), pl. 4
    Frankish kingdoms in 567 PDF567 JPG567 SHP567 Auguste Longnon, Ibid., pl. 5
    Frankish kingdoms in 577 PDF577 JPG577 SHP577 Eugen Ewig (see above)
    Frankish kingdoms in 581 PDF581 JPG581 SHP581 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 584 [1] PDF584 JPG584 SHP584 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 587 PDF587 JPG587 SHP587 Auguste Longnon, Géographie de la Gaule au VIe siècle (1878), pl. 8
    Frankish kingdoms in 592 PDF592 JPG592 SHP592 Eugen Ewig (see above)
    Frankish kingdoms in 596 PDF596 JPG596 SHP596 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 600 PDF600 JPG600 SHP600 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 612 PDF612 JPG612 SHP612 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 613 PDF613 JPG613 SHP613 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Frankish kingdoms in 628 PDF628 JPG628 SHP628 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Atlas général d’histoire et de géographie (1894), p. 21
    Frankish kingdoms after the division of Verdun (843) PDF843 JPG843 SHP843 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Ibid., p. 22
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 April 2016 | 14 October 2013
    top of the page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

    [1Data about Gundoald are very incomplete.

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Site Map | Latest articles | Private area | Legal info | About Ménestrel | ISSN : 2270-8928

Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Accueil > Editions Ménestrel > Cartographier le monde médiéval > Ressources

Ressources

  • Crédits, droits d’utilisation ou de redistribution

    On trouvera ici les ressources propres fournies par Ménestrel pour ce projet cartographique. Elles sont toutes mises à disposition selon les termes de la licence Creative Commons Paternité-Pas d’Utilisation Commerciale-Partage des Conditions Initiales à l’Identique 2.0 France.

    Les fonds de carte comportant des éléments de relief proviennent du site du Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR). Les autres ont été produits d’après les données du site Diva-Gis.

    13 février 2015 | 28 décembre 2012
    Haut de page
  • Évêchés et archevêchés d’Europe

    Évêchés et archevêchés

    Comme premier exemple de ce que la présente rubrique souhaite offrir, on trouvera ici la liste des évêchés et archevêchés médiévaux d’Europe avec leurs coordonnées géographiques, ainsi que la date de leur création et (le cas échéant) de leur déplacement ou de leur suppression. Pour l’espace italien, ce travail doit beaucoup à Hugues Labarthe, qui est notamment le réalisateur de la rubrique « Pour un Atlas de la Chrétienté romaine » sur le site E-ecclesia.eu.

    Pour diverses dates du Moyen Âge, on propose :
    - des fichiers shapefile (SHP), qui peuvent être importés directement dans un logiciel de traitement des SIG ;
    - un exemple de résultat au format JPG et au format PDF (ce dernier fichier est plus contraignant que le précédent, mais présente l’avantage de ne pas pixeliser si on le visualise à une échelle plus fine, et de pouvoir être modifié plus facilement sans recourir aux logiciels de traitement SIG).
    Les évêchés italiens étant fort nombreux, on propose des cartes spécifiques pour cette péninsule.

    Année 500 800 1100 1400
    shapefile (évêchés) 500 800 1100 1400
    shapefile (archevêchés) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Europe, JPG) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Europe, PDF) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Italie, JPG) 500 800 1100 1400
    image (Italie, PDF) 500 800 1100 1400

    Pour d’autres dates, l’utilisateur pourra recourir aux données sources, proposées sous la forme d’un tableau Excel, qui couvrent l’ensemble du Moyen Âge. À partir de ce fichier, il pourra facilement effectuer une autre sélection et produire ainsi les données SIG correspondant à la date qui l’intéresse. Pour créer une carte à propos de ces données personnalisées, voir le bref mode d’emploi sur les logiciels de SIG.

    Pour l’heure, seuls les évêchés situés sur le territoire de l’actuelle l’Allemagne, de l’Autriche, de la Belgique, du Danemark, de l’Espagne, de la France métropolitaine, de l’Italie, des Pays-Bas, du Royaume-Uni, de la Slovaquie et de la Suisse sont référencés. De même, les éléments naturels représentés (côtes, cours d’eau, relief) sont ceux d’aujourd’hui. Pour en savoir plus à propos des données proposées, on pourra consulter les métadonnées correspondantes. Bien des développements sont encore possibles pour améliorer cette rubrique...

    Thomas LIENHARD, Willy MORICE, 21 avril 2016 | 31 juillet 2012
    Haut de page
  • Evêchés d’Afrique

    On trouvera ici une cartographie historique des évêchés d’Afrique durant l’Antiquité et le Moyen Âge. Comme pour l’Europe, on propose à la fois des données chronologiques (dates auxquelles ces évêchés sont attestés) et spatiales. Pour ces deux types de renseignements, les résultats que l’on propose sont moins précis que pour l’Europe et très incomplets, d’une part car il s’agit d’un travail en cours et d’autre part car au regard des sources disponibles, on ne pourra jamais prétendre à l’exactitude, ni chercher à cartographier l’ensemble des évêchés africains attestés avant le XVIe s. La liste complète de ces derniers est consultable dans cette base de données. À l’heure actuelle, seuls 10% de ces items ont été traités dans la présente rubrique. Mais le travail avance…

    Cartographie des évêchés africains

    shapefile jpg (avec un classement selon la dernière attestation)
    Thomas LIENHARD, Willy MORICE, 29 avril 2016 | 21 avril 2016
    Haut de page
  • Collégiales

    On trouvera ici une cartographie des collégiales séculières fondées entre les années 600 et 1550 ap. J.-C. L’espace retenu est celui des diocèses de la France d’Ancien Régime. Ces données proviennent du projet « Collégiales » du Lamop, qui nous a généreusement fourni ces données et dont le site Internet fournira davantage de renseignements ; en particulier, c’est sur ce site que l’on trouvera des précisions supplémentaires à propos de chaque entité cartographiée ici.

    En raison de la densité de collégiales parfois très élevée, il est difficile de faire figurer le vocable de chacune d’entre elles sur une carte à l’échelle européenne. On a donc choisi de ne pas afficher cette donnée. Mais les fichiers shapefile que l’on propose plus bas contiennent cette information, de sorte que l’utilisateur pourra choisir ses propres options d’affichage. De même, en consultant les données sources, il pourra facilement sélectionner d’autres dates que celles retenues ici, et produire ainsi les données SIG correspondant pour la période qui l’intéresse. Pour toutes ces opérations, on renvoie au bref mode d’emploi sur les logiciels de SIG.

    Année 1000 1150 1300 1550
    shapefile SHP1000 SHP1150 SHP1300 SHP1550
    image (JPG) JPG1000 JPG1150 JPG1300 JPG1550
    image (PDF) PDF1000 PDF1150 PDF1300 PDF1550
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 avril 2016 | 22 mai 2013
    Haut de page
  • Sites fortifiés du Grand Est

    On trouvera ici les sites fortifiés de l’est de la France construits entre le Ve et le XVIe siècle et fouillés par le Pôle Archéologique Universitaire de l’université de Lorraine. Ces données ont été généreusement fournies par les responsables du site Image – Itinéraire Médiéval des sites Archéologiques du Grand Est médiéval, un site sur lequel on trouvera bien d’autres données et informations sur le projet.

    Châteaux

    shapefile jpg

    Maisons fortifiées

    shapefile jpg
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 avril 2016 | 8 avril 2016
    Haut de page
  • Sites antiques

    On trouvera ici de nombreuses données cartographiques concernant des sites antiques : aqueducs, forts, ponts, temples, théâtres, thermes, vici et villes. Ces données sont fournies par le site vici.org, sur lequel on trouvera des données supplémentaires ainsi que des informations concernant ce projet. Elles ont été complétées par Armin Volkmann et Thomas Lienhard. Étant donné l’abondance de ces données, il est impossible de les représenter toutes de façon lisible sur une carte d’ensemble du monde méditerranéen ; on a donc choisi de concentrer la représentation graphique sur le seul espace gaulois dans les cartes en jpg ci-dessous (sauf pour les forts, pour lesquels on a encore resserré la focale sur une fraction du limes rhéno-danubien), étant entendu que les fichiers shapefile, de leur côté, comportent l’ensemble des données disponibles en Europe, Afrique et Asie. Tous les sites remontent à l’Antiquité classique, mais aucune datation plus précise n’est fournie ici : pour l’obtenir à propos d’un site donné, il faut consulter la notice de ce dernier sur vici.org.

    Aqueducs

    shapefile jpg

    Forts

    shapefile jpg

    Ponts

    shapefile jpg

    Temples

    shapefile jpg

    Théâtres

    shapefile jpg

    Thermes

    shapefile jpg

    Vici

    shapefile jpg

    Villes

    shapefile jpg
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 avril 2016 | 8 avril 2016
    Haut de page
  • Territoires

    En règle générale, il n’est guère sensé de cartographier des territoires médiévaux au format SIG : l’extrême précision de ce dernier est peu compatible avec le caractère évasif de nos sources à propos des frontières ou des surfaces, et l’idéal consiste donc à ne cartographier que des points historiques, (tels que les évêchés) à l’exclusion des lignes (telles que celles des diocèses). On a pourtant choisi de proposer ici quelques données de ce type pour le confort de l’utilisateur, parce qu’il peut être commode de disposer d’une carte des provinces ou royaumes qui soit superposable avec les données proposées plus haut dans cette page. Celui qui souhaite utiliser ces cartes de territoires se souviendra toutefois que la précision de ces représentations n’a rien de scientifique, et qu’il faut compter avec une marge d’erreur de quelque 20 km. Pour les frontières orientales du monde franc, l’imprécision est plus grande encore.

    Moyennant quoi, les données sont fournies en tant que shapefiles, qui sont directement importables dans un logiciel SIG ; à chaque fois, on propose également un fichier pdf et jpg. Pour chaque document sont indiquées des références bibliographiques : celles-ci ont servi de base, mais ont fait l’objet d’une révision approfondie pour aboutir au résultat proposé ici.

    titre format pdf format jpg format shapefile source
    Les provinces romaines des Gaules au milieu du Ve siècle PDF450 JPG450 SHP450 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Atlas général d’histoire et de géographie (1894), p. 18
    Les royaumes francs à la mort de Clovis (511) PDF511 JPG511 SHP511 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Ibid., p. 21
    Les royaumes francs en 524 PDF524 JPG524 SHP524 Eugen Ewig, « Die fränkischen Teilungen und Teilreiche (511-613) », in Id., Spätantikes und fränkisches Gallien, 1976, vol.1, p. 72-113
    Les royaumes francs en 531 PDF531 JPG531 SHP531 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 534 PDF534 JPG534 SHP534 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 536 PDF536 JPG536 SHP536 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 555 PDF555 JPG555 SHP555 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 558 PDF558 JPG558 SHP558 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 561 PDF561 JPG561 SHP561 Auguste Longnon, Géographie de la Gaule au VIe siècle (1878), pl. 4
    Les royaumes francs en 567 PDF567 JPG567 SHP567 Auguste Longnon, Ibid., pl. 5
    Les royaumes francs en 577 PDF577 JPG577 SHP577 Eugen Ewig (cf. plus haut)
    Les royaumes francs en 581 PDF581 JPG581 SHP581 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 584 [1] PDF584 JPG584 SHP584 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 587 PDF587 JPG587 SHP587 Auguste Longnon, Géographie de la Gaule au VIe siècle (1878), pl. 8
    Les royaumes francs en 592 PDF592 JPG592 SHP592 Eugen Ewig (cf. plus haut)
    Les royaumes francs en 596 PDF596 JPG596 SHP596 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 600 PDF600 JPG600 SHP600 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 612 PDF612 JPG612 SHP612 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 613 PDF613 JPG613 SHP613 Eugen Ewig, Ibid.
    Les royaumes francs en 628 PDF628 JPG628 SHP628 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Atlas général d’histoire et de géographie (1894), p. 21
    Les royaumes francs après le partage de Verdun (843) PDF843 JPG843 SHP843 Paul Vidal de la Blache, Ibid., p. 22
    Thomas LIENHARD, 21 avril 2016 | 14 octobre 2013
    Haut de page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

    [1Les données concernant Gondovald sont très incomplètes.

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Plan du site | Derniers articles | Espace privé | Mentions légales | Qui sommes-nous? | ISSN : 2270-8928