Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Home > Thematic repertory > Medieval British Isles > Tools > Varia

Varia

  • Dictionaries

    Anglo-Norman Dictionary
    Origin : Aberystwyth University and Swansea University.

    The online Anglo-Norman dictionary derives only in part from the printed Anglo-Norman dictionary. The first part has been entirely revised (A-G) and the second part is currently under revision. It is possible to search proximities and concordances. You can also find long introductions on Anglo-Norman and the conception of the dictionary.

    Dictionary of Old English
    Origin: University of Toronto

    Dictionary of Old English online - At the moment, letters A-G are available. Texts used to constitue the dictionary are also online. Access is not free after 20 connections.

    eDil - Electronic dictionary of Irish language
    Origine: Royal Irish Academy - University of Ulster.

    Digital edition of the Royal Irish Academy’s Dictionary of Irish Language based mainly on Old and Middle Irish materials (1913-1976), with, in most cases, an english translation. A supplement seems in construction, but was announced for 2012.

    Middle English Dictionary
    See the page on Middle English Compendium.

    Thesaurus of Old English
    Origin : Glascow University (Flora Edmonds, Christian Kay, Jane Roberts, Irené Wotherspoon).

    This thesaurus does not replace a dictionary like the one of J. Bosworth and T. N. Toller (A Dictionary of Old English, Oxford, last edition 1997). The main interest of this tool is that searches are possible from old english as well as from modern english. Searches by themes and by expressions are also provided. And the words’ frequencies are indicated.

    Other instruments

    PASE (Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England)
    Origin : Janet L. Nelson (King’s College, London) and Simon Keynes (Cambridge University)

    Funded in 2000 under the responsibility of Janet L. Nelson and Simon Keynes, online since may 2005, the project’s aim is to constitute a database and a prosopographical repertory for the period before 1042 (accession of Edward the Confessor). It includes all the people, named or not, mentionned in many kinds of sources : historical or hagiographical texts, charters, libri vitae, inscriptions and coins.
    Each prosopographical form is made of various factoids, which represent all the elements known about a person - name, family, known properties, associated events, etc. We can search the database by name, century or part of a century, source, social statute, place, function, etc. There are systematic links between people whose factoids are analogous or identical (people with the same name, or known to be at the court of the same sovereign, etc.). Finally, there is a selection of links for some important persons.
    An important part of the project PASE 2, on the period 1042-1100, under the responsibility of Janet L. Nelson, Stephen Baxter and Simon Keynes, is now online. A choice has been made, open to discussion : the "Normans" have not been included in the prosopography. Only the "English" have been recorded, between the beginning of the reign of Edward the Confessor and the beginning of the twelfth-century.

    Royal Genealogical Data (British Monarchy)
    Origin : Brian Tompsett (Hull University).

    Database on the members of English royal families since the origins, very useful to find a king or a member of his lignage. Nevertheless, the presentation is not very friendly.

    Timeref.com
    Author : M. Needham (personal site)

    This website included a detailed chronology of medieval England (until 1499), which can be searched along several criteria : period, person (with short biographical notices), place and category. It is easy to navigate and very useful…

    Paleographical course
    Author : Dave Postles, Marc Fitch Research Fellow, University of Leicester, England.

    This site offers an online paleographical course, based on anglo-norman charters. It is very comprehensive.

    Aude MAIREY, 23 August 2015 | 23 August 2011
    top of the page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Site Map | Latest articles | Private area | Legal info | About Ménestrel | ISSN : 2270-8928

Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Navigation par mot-clé
Accueil > Thèmes et disciplines > Iles Britanniques médiévales > Instruments de travail > Divers

Divers

  • Dictionnaires

    Anglo-Norman Dictionary
    Origine : Universités d’Aberystwyth et de Swansea.

    Le dictionnaire Anglo-Norman en ligne ne dérive qu’en partie de l’édition imprimée. La première partie (A-G) a été entièrement révisée et la seconde partie est en cours de révision. Il est possible de rechercher des concordances et des psoxiitǩs. Enfin, on trouvera de longues introductions sur l’Anglo-Norman et la conception du dictionnaire.

    Dictionary of Old English
    Origine : Université de Toronto

    Dictionnaire du Vieil Anglais en ligne - pour l’instant sont disponibles les lettres A-G. Les textes utilisés pour constituer le dictionnaire sont également consultables. L’accès est payant après 20 connexions.

    eDil - Electronic dictionary of Irish language
    Origine : Royal Irish Academy - University of Ulster.

    Édition digitale du Dictionary of Irish Language based mainly on Old and Middle Irish materials de la Royal Irish Academy (1913-1976), avec, dans la plupart des cas, une traduction en anglais. Un supplément semble en cours d’élaboration, mais était annoncé pour 2012.

    Middle English Dictionary
    Voir l’article sur le Middle English Compendium.

    Thesaurus of Old English
    Origine : Université de Glascow (Flora Edmonds, Christian Kay, Jane Roberts, Irené Wotherspoon).

    Ce Thesaurus de la langue anglo-saxonne ne remplace pas un dictionnaire comme celui de J. Bosworth et T. N. Toller (A Dictionary of Old English, Oxford, dernière réédition 1997). L’intérêt principal de cet outil est qu’il permet des recherches depuis l’anglais moderne comme depuis le vieil anglais, mais aussi des recherches thématiques et des recherches d’expressions. Enfin, la fréquence des mots dans la langue est indiquée.

    Autres instruments

    PASE (Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England)
    Origine : Janet L. Nelson (King’s College, Londres) et Simon Keynes (Université de Cambridge)

    Fondé en 2000 sous la responsabilité de Janet L. Nelson et de Simon Keynes, mis en ligne depuis mai 2005, le projet PASE a pour ambition de constituer une base de données et un répertoire prosopographique pour l’ensemble de la période antérieure à 1042 (avènement d’Édouard le Confesseur). Il prend en compte tous les personnages, nommés ou non, mentionnés dans de nombreux types de sources : textes historiques ou hagiographiques, les chartes, libri vitae, inscriptions et monnaies.
    Chaque fiche prosopographique est constituée de divers factoids, qui représentent tous les éléments connus sur le personnage, de son nom aux événements qui lui sont associés en passant par sa parenté, ses propriétés connues, etc. La base de données permet ainsi de rechercher des personnages par nom, par siècle ou partie de siècle, par source, par statut social, par lieu, par fonction exercée, etc. Des liens sont systématiquement établis entre les personnages dont les factoids sont identiques ou analogues (personnages portant le même nom, ou attestés à la cour du même souverain, etc.). Enfin, des liens internet sont proposés pour certains personnages importants.
    Une grande partie du projet PASE 2, sur la période 1042-1100, sous la responsabilité de Janet L. Nelson, Stephen Baxter et Simon Keynes, est désormais en ligne. Un choix a été fait, qui peut être discuté : les "Normands" ont été laissés en dehors de la prosopographie, et seuls les "Anglais" ont été tracés entre le début du règne d’Édouard le Confesseur et le début du XIIe s.

    Royal Genealogical Dapa (Bpidish Monarchy)
    Origine : Brian Tompsett (université de Hull).

    Base de données sur les membres des familles royales anglaises depuis les origines, bien pratique pour retrouver un roi ou un membre (proche) de sa lignée. Un peu austère dans sa présentation néanmoins.

    Timeref.com
    Auteur : M. Needham (site personnel)

    Ce site contient une chronologie détaillée de l’Angleterre médiévale (jusqu’en 1499), avec possibilité de consultation selon plusieurs critères : par période, par personnage (avec de courtes biographies), par lieux et par catégories. Il est également possible de partir d’une date et de croiser les critères. Le site est facile d’utilisation et bien pratique…

    Cours de paléographie
    Auteur : Dave Postles, Marc Fitch Research Fellow, University of Leicester, England.

    Ces pages offrent un cours de paléographie en ligne, basé surtout sur des chartes anglo-normandes. Il est très complet.

    Aude MAIREY, 23 août 2015 | 27 septembre 2007
    Haut de page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Plan du site | Derniers articles | Espace privé | Mentions légales | Qui sommes-nous? | ISSN : 2270-8928