Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Home > Medievalists on the map > Switzerland > Archives

Archives

  • - Swiss Archivists’ Association: Verein Schweizerischer Archivarinnen und Archivare (VSA) - Association des archivistes suisses (AAS) - Associazione degli archivisti svizzeri (AAS) - Uniun da las archivarias e dals archivaris svizzers (UAS)
    Languages: mainly in German.

    An essential site. This association (the VSA) was founded at Lenzburg (AG) by the Society for the History of Switzerland on 4 September 1922.
    The site provides the history of this association, important dates related to it, its statutes, its aim, etc. The option «Aktuell» gives a calendar of significant meetings and activities. It is also possible to learn more about the career of an archivist, including possible links with other fields, such as politics.
    The option «Aktivitäten» summarizes the projects run by the association (for example: work group: «ecclesiastical archives»; work group: «communal archives», etc.)
    The VSA is also a publisher. Its house journal Arbido provides a «Guide to useful terms for archivists».
    The last option, «Archive addresses» is very full: it includes a list of all the archive centres in Switzerland and the addresses of a large number of international archives (in Mexico, Santa Lucia, Cuba, Fiji and Macao, to cite just a few), the addresses of associations of archivists and of schools for archivists (notably Marburg). To help find Swiss archives, there is the possibility to view a map of Switzerland divided into cantons: choose the canton to obtain a complete list of archives in that canton (addresses, location, etc.).

    Some Archive Sites:

    - Swiss Literary Archives – The National Library
    Languages: French, German, Italian, English

    These two national institutions retain the collections of numerous private archives, including Genevan archives. The Swiss Literary Archives also hold the summary guide to manuscript collections conserved in the libraries and archives of Switzerland Répertoire sommaire des fonds manuscrits conservés dans les Bibliothèques et Archives de Suisse.

    - Swiss Federal Archives
    Languages: French, German, Italian

    The Swiss Federal Archives currently hold around fifty kilometres of documents, most of which date from the nineteenth and twentieth century. These documents can be consulted in the reading rooms. Access to them is regulated by the federal law on archives (LAr, RS 152.1).

    - State Archives, Fribourg
    Languages: French, German

    Clear and precise site. The option ‘Archives de l’État’ gives useful information.
    Some catalogues, notably concerning medieval history, can be accessed online using the option «Nos documents». Since July 2004 the State Archives have been working to make the existing guides to their archives available online. Some of the paper catalogues have been digitised, and adapted as much as possible to the general international norm of archival description ISAD (G). The current version is a test version. Le Guide des Archives de l’État de Fribourg (The Guide to the Archives of the State of Fribourg) is also available (but not to download). Also available is an alphabetical list by parish, and by commune with the parish listed, with the range of dates shown for each register. This list is regularly updated. Many links.

    - State Archives, Geneva
    Language: French

    This site, which is still something of a draft in terms of its presentation, offers several options with a presentation of the archives, and the database Adhémar, and of current exhibitions in Geneva; «À votre service» provides help for researchers (legal information, contacts, training, glossary, publications, etc.); «Exhibitions». Search engine.
    The State Archives of Geneva provide the public with access to their database ‘Adhémar’. The inventories of the collections are now available online; more than 100,000 document descriptions are easily available online. The document descriptions comply with the international norm ISAD(G). Adhémar has been active since 1989, describing modern and contemporary holdings. Many earlier inventories (medieval and early modern collections) have been added to it. It is updated daily. Adhémar can be searchable by collection, by theme or by class mark. A search by collection leads to the inventory of this or that service of the administration of a canton, of a family or of a society. A thematic search makes it possible to gain access to a description of all the documents, in all collections, related to a keyword. A large number of links.
    See also the Guide des archives publiques genevoises (Guide to the Geneva public archives) provided by the Société Auxiliaire des Archives.

    - Foundation for the Historical Archives of the Abbey of Saint-Maurice (AASM)
    Language: French

    This foundation came into existence in June 2000 «with the aim of assisting the Abbey authorities in their efforts to make the archives more widely available».
    The website provides much useful information and is well presented. In general, it is a very practical site.
    The link «La Fondation» provides a detailed description of the archives of Saint Maurice Abbey (the aims of the Foundation, the members of its administrative council, the history of the abbey, the history of the abbey archives, the rules of the archives), and also enables the user to donate money to the abbey.
    The Foundation has begun an inventory of the abbey’s documents (which are particularly rich for the medieval period) and also their digitisation (mainly amongst the older collections at the moment).
    Access to the inventories – for the older collections, the analysis often goes down to the level of the individual item (for example, for the registers of recognisances for goods) – is available for free.
    The option Autres fonds d’archives directs the reader to four archive collections: the Archives of the Congregation of the Canons of Grand-Saint-Benard (accesible if the reader pays the 48 Swiss Franc subscription), the Archives of the Cathedral Chapter of Sion (also accessible through this subscription), the State Archives of Turin and, of course, the Archives of Saint-Maurice Abbey.
    The other options in this site are familiar ones: the roll of honour (patrons), links.

    - Archives of the Canton of Vaud (ACV)
    Language: French

    These archives were founded in 1798. The site provides abundant information concerning both the Archives and on research methodology.
    The site gives the history of the archives, significant dates, the personnel of the archives, statistics and the aims of the ACV.
    The site offers information concerning the documents conserved in the archives of the communes of the canton of Vaud. This includes a summary description of research tools which are not available online. Nonetheless, the ACV are in the process of putting together a number of digital research tools (a database). These will be offered to the public when complete, notably an indexed guide to the collections preserved by the ACV, a detailed inventory of parish registers, state and notarial registers. The site does not offer direct consultation of the documents.
    Links to partners in the canton, amongst Swiss archives, and to international partners.

    - Ecclesiastical holdings in Swiss archives
    Languages: English, French, Italian

    Guide to the ecclesiastical archives compiled by the workgroup for ecclesiastical archives of the Association of Swiss archivists.

    - State Archive of the Canton of Basel-Town
    Language: German

    Digitisation of research tools in process. Possibility to search the contents of the collections.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 15 November 2010 | 3 June 2009
    top of the page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Site Map | Latest articles | Private area | Legal info | About Ménestrel | ISSN : 2270-8928

Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Navigation par mot-clé
Accueil > Lieux et acteurs > Suisse > Archives

Archives

  • - Verein Schweizerischer Archivarinnen und Archivare (VSA) - Association des archivistes suisses (AAS) - Associazione degli archivisti svizzeri (AAS) - Uniun da las archivarias e dals archivaris svizzers (UAS)
    Langues : principalement en allemand

    Un site essentiel. Cette association (l’AAS) a été fondée à Lenzbourg (AG) par la Société générale d’histoire de Suisse le 4 septembre 1922.
    Le site offre au début l’histoire de cette association, ses dates importantes, ses statuts, son but, etc. L’option « Actualités » donne un calendrier des rendez-vous et des activités. Il est également possible d’en savoir plus au sujet du métier de l’archiviste : les liens possibles de l’archiviste avec d’autres champs comme la politique sont aussi expliqués.
    Dans l’option « Activités » sont résumées les actions exercées par l’association (exemple : groupe de travail « archives ecclésiastiques », groupe de travail « archives communales », etc.).
    L’AAS est aussi active en matière de publication : sa revue, Arbido, offre un « Répertoire des termes utiles aux archivistes ».
    La dernière option, « Adresses des archives » est très riche : liste de tous les centres d’archives qui sont présents en Suisse et adresses d’un grand nombre de centres internationaux d’archives (Mexique, Sainte Lucie, Cuba, Fiji, Mackau, pour en citer quelques-uns), associations d’archivistes, écoles d’archivistes (Marburg). Pour trouver les archives suisses, possibilité de voir une carte de la Suisse divisée en cantons : il suffit de choisir un canton pour obtenir la liste complète des archives de ce canton (adresses, localisation, etc.).

    Quelques sites d’archives :

    - Archives littéraires suisses - Bibliothèque nationale
    Langues : français, allemand, italien, anglais

    Ces deux institutions nationales conservent de nombreux fonds d’archives privées, y compris genevoises. Les Archives littéraires suisses abritent par ailleurs le Répertoire sommaire des fonds manuscrits conservés dans les Bibliothèques et Archives de Suisse.

    - Archives fédérales suisses
    Langues : français, allemand, italien

    Les Archives fédérales suisses (AFS) comptent actuellement une cinquantaine de kilomètres de documents, dont la majeure partie date du XIXe siècle et du XXe siècle. Ces documents peuvent êtres consultés dans les salles de lecture. Leur accès est réglementé dans la loi fédérale sur l’archivage (LAr, RS 152.1). Seule la Feuille fédérale peut être consultée sur Internet. Le site est clair et régulièrement mis à jour.

    - Archives de l’État de Fribourg
    Langues : français, allemand

    Site clair et précis. L’option « Archives de l’État » donne les renseignements utiles.
    Sous l’option « Nos documents » se trouvent en ligne certains inventaires, intéressant notamment l’histoire médiévale. En effet, depuis juillet 2004, les Archives de l’État travaillent à la mise en ligne des répertoires d’archives existants. Une partie des répertoires sur papier a été numérisée et adaptée autant que possible à la norme générale et internationale de description archivistique ISAD (G). La version actuelle est une version test. Le Guide des Archives de l’État de Fribourg est également disponible (mais non téléchargeable). Disponible également la liste alphabétique par paroisse et par commune avec l’indication de la paroisse concernée avec les dates limites des registres. Cette liste est tenue à jour régulièrement. Nombreux liens. Parmi les nouveautés, depuis 2008 : une rubrique donne des conseils aux néophytes pour effectuer des recherches historiques ou généalogiques.

    - Archives d’État de Genève
    Langue : français

    Ce site, qui reste quelque peu brouillon (trop de rubriques s’affichent sur la page d’accueil), offre ces principales options : « Missions » ; « Consultation », « Fonds et collections » avec une présentation des archives, de la base de données Adhémar, et des expositions présentes à Genève ; « À votre service », en forme d’aide aux chercheurs (bases légales, contacts, enseignants formation, glossaires, publications, etc.) ; « Expositions ». Moteur de recherche.
    Les Archives d’État de Genève mettent à disposition du public leur base de données Adhémar. Les inventaires des fonds conservés sont désormais accessibles et plus de cent mille descriptions de documents sont disponibles facilement en ligne. La description des documents a été réalisée selon la norme internationale ISAD(G). Adhémar est alimentée depuis 1989, les fonds modernes et contemporains y sont décrits. De nombreux inventaires antérieurs (fonds médiévaux et de l’Ancien Régime) y ont été intégrés. La mise à jour est quotidienne. Le chercheur a la possibilité d’interroger Adhémar par fonds, par thème ou par cote. Une recherche par fonds aboutira à l’inventaire du fonds de tel ou tel service de l’administration cantonale, d’une famille ou d’une société. Une recherche par thème permettra d’obtenir la description de tous les documents, tous fonds confondus, relatifs à un mot-clé.
    Grande richesse de liens.
    Voir également le Guide des archives publiques genevoises proposé par la Société auxiliaire des Archives.

    - Fondation des Archives historiques de l’abbaye de Saint-Maurice (AASM)
    Langue : français

    Cette fondation est née en juin 2000 « se donnant pour mission d’appuyer les autorités de l’Abbaye dans leurs efforts d’ouverture des archives ».
    Le site offre, sous une bonne présentation, une grande richesse d’informations. Pour résumer, c’est un site très fonctionnel.
    L’option « La Fondation » fournit une vaste description des archives de l’abbaye de Saint-Maurice (les missions de la fondation, les membres du conseil de fondation, l’histoire de l’abbaye, l’histoire des archives de l’abbaye, le règlement des Archives), et l’opportunité de devenir, grâce à des contributions en argent, un donateur d’honneur de l’abbaye.
    La Fondation a lancé l’inventaire des documents (particulièrement riches pour la période médiévale) doublé de leur numérisation (celle-ci se fait actuellement sur le fonds ancien principalement).
    L’accès aux inventaires - pour le fonds ancien, les analyses vont souvent jusqu’au niveau de la pièce (par exemple pour les registres de reconnaissances de biens) - et aux documents numérisés est désormais gratuit.
    L’option « Table des matières des fonds » présente un état sommaire des fonds, accompagné du degré de numérisation des documents.
    L’option Fonds d’archives et moteurs de recherche envoie le lecteur aux quatre fonds d’archives : Archives de la Congrégation des chanoines du Grand-Saint-Bernard (accessible si le lecteur s’est acquitté des 48 FrS susdits), Archives Chapitre cathédral de Sion (même remarque pour l’accès au site), Archivio di Stato di Torino et - évidemment - l’abbaye de Saint-Maurice.
    Les autres options du site sont classiques : présentation du mécénat, les liens.

    - Archives cantonales vaudoises (ACV)
    Langue : français

    Ces archives sont nées en 1798. Le site contient nombre d’informations, tant sur les Archives en question que sur la méthode de recherche.
    Le site, très complet, offre l’histoire des archives, ses dates importantes, la présentation du personnel des archives, les missions des ACV.
    Informations sur les documents qui sont conservés dans les archives des communes vaudoises. Présentation sommaire des instruments de recherche, qui ne sont pas mis en ligne. Mais est donné en ligne l’inventaire général des archives communales vaudoises avant 1961. Toutefois, les ACV sont en train de constituer des instruments de recherche informatique (base de données). Des instruments de recherche informatique seront proposés à terme au public, notamment un répertoire indexé des fonds et collections conservés aux ACV, un inventaire détaillé des registres de paroisses, d’état civil et des notaires. Le site n’offre pas directement la consultation de documents.
    Liens renvoyant au réseau cantonal, au réseau des archives suisses, au réseau international.

    - Fonds ecclésiastiques dans les archives suisses
    Langues : anglais, français, italien

    Répertoire d’archives ecclésiastiques réalisé par le Groupe de travail des archives ecclésiastiques de l’Association des archivistes suisses.

    - Staatsarchiv Kanton Basel-Stadt
    Langue : allemand

    Catalogue en ligne des archives du canton de Bâle. Possibilité d’interrogation sur le contenu des fonds.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 15 novembre 2010 | 9 octobre 2007
    Haut de page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Plan du site | Derniers articles | Espace privé | Mentions légales | Qui sommes-nous? | ISSN : 2270-8928