Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Home > Medievalists on the map > Switzerland > Historical Museums

Historical Museums

  • The websites of historical museums, although they often give indispensible information (location, exhibitions) are generally very disappointing (with the exception of the museums of Basel and Lausanne), with few images available online, no thematic sections, or digitised catalogues.

    - Historisches Museum Basel (Basel Historical Museum)
    Language: German

    An excellent, very comprehensive site for the historical museum of Basel, including all the necessary information concerning the museum (including a guestbook). 500 photos of objects, many of which are from the Middle Ages (archaeology, militaria, ceramics, musical instruments, glass, textiles, games, etc.). It is possible to zoom in on the photos, which are accompanied with very detailed captions.

    - Historische Museum Bern (Bern Historical Museum), ville de Berne, canton de Berne
    Languages: French, German, English

    The very comprehensive site of the Berne Historical Museum. This website is updated very frequently, and events are noted in the form of a logbook. Each event is presented well and in detail. There is even a small online boutique. That said, not many images are available online, and there is no digital catalogue available.

    - Lausanne Historical Museum, canton de Vaud
    Languages: French, German, English

    - Musée historique de Vevey (Vevey, Vaud)
    Language: French

    This official site of Vevey Historical Museum provides essential (but brief) information on the museum, which holds both medieval objects and medieval manuscripts.

    - Museen in Schwyz (Historical Museum of Schwyz, canton of Schwyz)

    Links to the three historical museums of the canton of Schwyz, whose sites are independent, namely: (1) the Swiss History Forum; (2) the museum of federal charters (concerning the confederal charter of 1291); (3) The Ital Reding Property (a seventeenth-century baroque house).
    A basic description of the Museums, and details of their locations and addresses. Not much information.

    - Gruérien Museum: History, arts and traditions of the Gruyère (Bulle, canton of Fribourg)
    Languages: French, German, English

    The site, which is frequently updated is divided into three parts: Museum (introductory information, contacts etc.), Friends of the Museum, and Library. The Museum does not occupy very much of the site. It could perhaps have been assigned more space. There is not much information on the museum. Nonetheless, specifications of time and location are very detailed. The page is not available in Italian.

    - Fribourg Art and History Museum
    Languages: French, German, English

    A part of the official site of the canton dedicated to the museum. Essential information. Aspects not directly linked to the strictly academic activity of the museum (introductory courses, activities for families). A limited site.

    - Geneva Art and History Museum
    Language: French

    Minimal but essential information on the museum (exhibitions etc.)

    - NIKE: National Information Centre for the Conservation of Cultural Property, Bern
    Languages: German, French

    The national centre for the conservation of cultural property (Nationale Informationsstelle für Kulturgüter-Erhaltung) is a hub of information in the field of the conservation of material cultural property in Switzerland. The Support Association for NIKE is made up of 31 specialised organisations and societies open to the public. The Centre’s task is to encourage the exchange of knowledge between disciplines and to inform public opinion. Events such as the ‘European Heritage Day’, congresses and the NIKE Bulletin encourage the user to familiarise his or herself with many different aspects of the cultural heritage of Switzerland. A very useful site for links to official organisations, associations and inventory organisations, concerned with heritage conservation.

    - Schlossmuseum Thun (Thun Castle Museum, Thun, Bern canton)
    Languages: German, English

    Site of Thun Historical Museum. Minimal information.
    The description of the museum’s location is not very clear.

    - Schweizerische Nationalmuseen (Swiss National Museum)
    Languages: German, French, English, Italian

    This site is dedicated to Swiss national museums, with different sections dedicated to different museums (National Museum of Switzerland, Zurich; Château de Prangins; Customs and Excise Museum, Cantine di Gandria (nothing medieval); Forum of Swiss History (since 1300), Schwyz; Museum of Automatons, Seewen, ‘a charming locality in the canton of Soleure’ (for commemoration); Château de Wildegg, situated between Aarau and Brugg, a thirteenth-century fortress which was transformed into a baroque residence in the seventeenth century… ; the Museum of the Bärengasse, Zurich (concerning the town in the eighteenth century); the House of Corporations, Zurich : ‘situated on the banks of the Limmat a stone’s throw from the Fraumünster, the ideal location in which to present the elegant statuettes and porcelain vases made in the workshop of Kilchberg-Schooren near Zurich (1763-1790)’. Includes all the necessary information. There is also the possibility to go on a virtual tour of the museums.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 5 March 2011 | 6 September 2009
    top of the page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Site Map | Latest articles | Private area | Legal info | About Ménestrel | ISSN : 2270-8928

Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Navigation par mot-clé
Accueil > Lieux et acteurs > Suisse > Musées historiques

Musées historiques

  • Les sites de musées historiques, s’ils donnent les renseignements indispensables (localisation, expositions) sont généralement d’une grande pauvreté (hormis les musées de Bâle et de Lausanne) : peu d’images mises en ligne, pas de dossiers thématiques, ni catalogues numérisés.

    - Historisches Museum Basel (Musée Historique de Bâle, Museo storico di Basilea)
    Langue : allemand

    Site complet et excellent sur le musée historique de Bâle, avec toutes les informations qui concernent le musée (avec aussi un Livre d’or...). 500 photos d’objets en grande partie du Moyen Âge (archéologie, militaria, céramique, instruments de musique, verre, textiles, jeux, etc.). Possibilité d’agrandissement de la photo, accompagnée d’une notice très détaillée).

    - Historisches Museum Bern (Musée Historique de Berne, Museo storico di Berna), ville de Berne, canton de Berne
    Langue : français, allemand, anglais.

    Site très complet sur le musée historique de Berne. Le site est mis à jour très souvent et les événements sont marqués à la manière d’un journal de bord. Toutes les manifestations sont bien présentées et bien détaillées. Le site propose même une petite boutique en ligne. Cependant, il est à noter que peu d’images sont mises en lignes, tout comme l’absence de catalogues numériques.

    - Musée historique de Lausanne (Museo storico di Losanna, Historisches Museum Lausanne), ville de Lausanne, canton de Vaud
    Langues : français, anglais, allemand

    Ce musée retrace l’histoire du Moyen Âge au XIXe siècle. Accéder à l’inventaire des collections numérisées des musées et du Fonds des arts plastiques de Lausanne est possible sur le portail culturel Europeana auquel participent les plus grandes institutions culturelles européennes. Le Musée historique de Lausanne, la Collection de l’Art brut, le Mudac, le Musée romain de Vidy et le Fonds des arts plastiques sont les premiers et, à ce jour, les seuls musées suisses à y participer

    - Musée historique de Vevey (Museo storico di Vevey, Historisches Museum Vevey), ville de Vevey, canton de Vaud
    Langue : français.

    Site officiel du musée historique de Vevey, où on trouve les informations essentielles (mais très brèves) à propos du musée qui comporte objets et manuscrits médiévaux).

    - Museen in Schwyz (Musées de Schwytz, Musei di Svitto), ville Schwytz, canton de Schwytz

    Renvoi à trois musées historiques du canton de Schwytz, dont les sites sont indépendants. 1) Forum d’histoire suisse, 2) Musée des chartes fédérales (autour de la charte confédérale de 1291), 3) Propriété ital reding (maison baroque du XVIIe siècle).
    Présentation dépouillée des Musées, et des indications sur la localisation et les adresses. Peu d’informations.

    - Musée Gruérien : Histoire, arts et traditions de la Gruyère (Museo Guérien : storia, arte e tradizione della Gruyère ; Gruérien Museum : Geschichte, Kunst und Gruyersbildung), ville de Bulle, canton de Fribourg
    Langues : français, allemand, anglais

    Le site, bien mis à jour, est divisé en trois parties : Musée (informations, contacts, etc.), Amis du Musée, Bibliothèque. Le Musée n’occupe pas une partie très grande du site. On aurait peut-être pu lui donner une partie plus grande. Les informations sur le musée sont peu nombreuses. Pourtant les indications de temps et d’espace sont très détaillées. En outre, la page n’est pas disponible en italien.

    - Musée d’art et d’histoire de Fribourg (Kunst und Geschichtemuseum Freiburg, Museo d’arte e storia di Friborgo)
    Langues : français, allemand, anglais

    Partie du site officiel du canton dédié au musée. Informations essentielles. Des aspects non liés directement à l’activité culturelle du musée (pédagogie, activité pour familles). Site pauvre.

    - Musée d’art et d’histoire de Genève (Museo d’arte e storia di Ginevra, Kunst und Geschichtemuseum)
    Langue : français, allemand, anglais

    Informations minimales mais essentielles sur le musée (expositions, etc.)

    - Centre national d’information pour la conservation des biens culturels NIKE, Berne
    Langues : allemand, français

    Le Centre national d’information pour la conservation des biens culturels NIKE (Nationale Informationsstelle für Kulturgüter-Erhaltung) est un carrefour de l’information dans le domaine de la conservation des biens culturels matériels en Suisse. 31 associations spécialisées et organisations ouvertes au public constituent l’Association de soutien au Centre NIKE. La tâche de ce Centre est d’encourager l’échange des connaissances entre les disciplines ainsi que l’information au sein de l’opinion publique. Les manifestations comme « La Journée européenne du Patrimoine », les congrès et le Bulletin NIKE invitent à se familiariser avec les divers aspects du patrimoine culturel de la Suisse. Site précieux pour les liens vers les services officiels, les associations, et les organismes d’inventaires, autour de la conservation du patrimoine.

    - Schlossmuseum Thun (Musée du château de Thun, Museo del castello di Thun), ville Thun, canton Bern
    Langue : allemand, anglais

    Site du Musée historique de Thun. Informations minimales.
    L’indication de l’emplacement du musée n’est pas très claire.

    - Schweizerische Nationalmuseen (Musées nationaux suisses, Musei nazionali Svizzeri)
    Langues : allemand, français, anglais, italien

    Site dédié aux musées nationaux suisses, avec des parties différentes dédiées à différents musées (Musée national suisse de Zurich ; Château de Prangins ; Musée des douanes, Cantine di Gandria (rien de médiéval) ; Forum d’histoire suisse, Schwyz (depuis 1300) ; Musée des automates, Seewen, « charmante localité du canton de Soleure » (pour mémoire) ; Château de Wildegg, situé entre Aarau et Brugg, château-fort du XIIIe siècle transformé en demeure baroque au XVIIe siècle... ; Musée de la Bärengasse, Zurich (sur la ville au XVIIIe siècle) ; la Maison des corporations, Zurich : « située au bord de la Limmat à quelques pas du Fraumünster, est le décor idéal pour présenter les élégantes statuettes et les vases de porcelaine fabriqués dans la manufacture de Kilchberg-Schooren près de Zurich (1763-1790) ». On trouve toutes les informations nécessaires. En plus, il y a la possibilité d’accéder virtuellement aux musées.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 5 mars 2011 | 9 octobre 2007
    Haut de page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Plan du site | Derniers articles | Espace privé | Mentions légales | Qui sommes-nous? | ISSN : 2270-8928