Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Home > Medievalists on the map > Switzerland > Societies and associations

Societies and associations

  • Associations

    - Archéologie Suisse (Swiss Archaeological Society)

    Languages: German, French
    Archéologie Suisse is open to anyone interested in archaeology in Switzerland. Through its publications, and also through excursions, taught courses and lectures, its members are provided with essential grounding, and kept up to date with current research, in prehistoric, ancient and early medieval archaeology in Switzerland. The main aims of Archéologie Suisse are to bring together all those interested in Swiss archaeology, professionals and amateurs, and to ‘contribute to research into Swiss archaeological heritage’.
    The site includes a very precise description of all the organisations involved in the association, with a portrait and the contact details of its members (click here). There is a news section, which is regularly updated. Another section presents the publications of the association (although some of the pages are still under construction) which can be obtained by means of an online order form. The link page provides access to a number of small sites dedicated to various work groups concerned with Swiss archaeology. As a general rule, the site is very well structured, easy to navigate and pleasant to look at. A web forum makes it possible for the reader to participate. The site also provides a very useful search engine which, through a little advertising, permits the visitor to read summaries of articles in the Revue d’archéologie suisse (which can also be ordered online). The search engine works in German and in French, although not all the articles are available in the two languages.

    - Association of Swiss Archivists (AAS)
    Languages: German, French, Italian
    This site provides a calendar of the association’s activities, interesting pages on the profession of archivist, and on training to be an archivist (in German only) as well as links to various archival research engines. The AAS (Association des Archivistes Suisses) publishes the journal Arbido. Also very useful is a list of addresses of the offices of archives in Switzerland. The presentation has been carefully considered and it is easy to find one’s way around. The contact details of the members of the association are available under the rubric ‘Activités’.

    - History and Computing Association (HI)
    Languages: German, French
    This association ‘aims to promote the qualified and appropriate use of computing in historical research, training and documentation.’
    The site in three languages contains information concerning the organisation of the association with the names (and the Internet addresses) of its members as well as abstracts in pdf form of published works. There is also a list of links and a ‘members’ section. The site is quick and simple to use.

    - Swiss Castles and Ruins Association – Schweiserischen Burgenverein
    Language: German
    The design is good. This association is dedicated to medieval culture and encourages research into medieval fortified places, churches and centres of habitation. It publishes a quarterly journal Moyen Âge, which is downloadable (since 1996).

    - Association for the Study of Regional History (AEHR)
    Language: French
    The AEHR (Association pour l’Étude de l’Histoire Régionale) brings together professional historians with many different specialisms. It currently has more than 60 members, specialised in every aspect of regional history. It also aims to develop links between historians and the public by various means: books, plaques, films, exhibitions, conferences, etc. The website provides information about the association and its publications. The members are listed, but their contact details are not provided. The site, which is available only in French, serves essentially as a shop window for the association and is not in itself a useful research tool. That said, it is updated regularly.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 15 November 2010 | 7 September 2009
    top of the page
  • Learned societies in Switzerland

    - List of Learned Societies on the Site of the Swiss Academy of Human and Social Sciences
    Languages: German, French
    The ASSH (Académie Suisse des Sciences Humaines et Sociales) is an organisation which brings together 54 learned societies. From literature to theology, via communication studies and ethnology, the member societies cover a wide variety of disciplines. The ASSH serves as a platform for common projects and to distribute research results within the research community. The ASSH dedicates part of its budget to encourage activities which support the social and human sciences in Switzerland. Although the means at its disposition are relatively modest, the ASSH defends in particular a policy of support based on the promotion and presence of women in academic milieu. The ASSH regularly organises public meetings and round tables on a variety of current themes.

    - Mémoires d’ici (‘Memories of here’)
    Language: French
    Mémoires d’ici conserves and promotes the cultural and historical heritage of the Bern Jura region’
    This pleasantly designed site offers a mass of information. Despite its polished presentation, with images, plans and photos, it is easy to navigate. The website is updated on a regular basis. One criticism only: the site is only available in French. A catalogue, which is quick and easy to use, provides access to the library of the research centre. Mémoires d’ici also provides access to the parish registers of the Jura in the region of Berne and Bienne. One page provides directions to visit the centre and consult them. Moreover, the site provides online access to interesting dossiers on the history of the Berne Jura. A very good site, highly useful and very well put together.

    - Swiss Heraldic Society (Société suisse d’Héraldique; Schweizerische Heraldische Gesellschaft; Società Svizzera di Araldica - SSH, SHG, SSA)
    Languages: German, French, Italian
    This site makes it possible to order the weekly bulletin of the Swiss Heraldic Association. The site is available in all three national languages. Unfortunately all the information provided is for a fee, and there is little to download. The quality of the site’s graphics is very poor (no images, rough presentation). The links provided are interesting, however, as is the international coverage of the site.

    - Swiss Historical Society (Société suisse d’Histoire; Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Geschichte; Società Svizzera di Storia - SGG, SSH, SSS)
    Languages: German, French

    On 7 April 2001, the Swiss Historial Society took the place of the General Swiss Historical Society (Société générale suisse d’histoire – SGSH); in this role, it is the primary point of contact and source of information for current events and publications in the historical sciences in Switzerland.

    The site provides online access to the most recent issues of the Revue Suisse d’Histoire (Swiss Historical Review) which provides information on various conferences and meetings. The visitor can also access a database which provides information on all the undergraduate dissertations and theses currently in progress or recently completed in Swiss universities in the fields of history, legal history, ecclesiastical history and the history of medicine from the winter semester 2000-2001 up until the summer semester 2005. Another database consists of an index to the Revue Suisse d’Histoire. The website of the society also includes a section on ‘Archives’ with accounts of the most recent events, and also a page with many useful links. The organisational schema of the society gives information on the people who make it work and provides their contact details. The web page of the Swiss Historical Society is unfortunately not provided in all three national languages, but is only available in German and in French.

    - Swiss Numismatic Society (Société Suisse de Numismatique; Schweizerische Numismatische Gesellschaft; Società Svizzera di Numismatica)
    Languages: Site in German only, although the welcome page is available in French, English, Italian and German
    Panorama of numismatics in Switzerland. Information on the activities of the society and details of the publications Revue Suisse de Numismatique et Gazette numismatique Suisse. Some downloads possible. Interesting links.

    - Society for the History of Francophone Switzerland (Société d’histoire de la Suisse romande - SHSR)
    Language: French

    The Society for the History of Francophone Switerland encourages original historical and archaeological research concerning Francophone Switzerland. It publishes or assists with the publication of works of history and archaeology which improve knowledge of the past of Francophone Switzerland and of regions linked to it.

    The site includes a list of the society’s publications, which can be ordered online. There is also a page illustrating the structure of the SHSR and information on how to become a member (online membership form). One page also gives details on forthcoming activities (unfortunately not kept up to date) and also some useful links for the websites of other Swiss learned societies. The site is straightforward and easy to use, but the resources which it offers are relatively limited. It is above all a shop window for the Society for the History of Francophone Switzerland, rather than a true research tool. The site is only available in French.

    - Society for the History and Archaeology of the Canton of Neuchâtel (Société d’histoire et d’archéologie du canton de Neuchâtel – SHAN)
    Language: French
    The society’s directing committee organises academic conferences and events – guided tours, lectures, excursions – and publishes a series on the history of Neuchâtel. The society also manages donated funds, the revenues from which are dedicated to the distribution of prizes in the fields of history, literature and painting. The site is dedicated for the most part to the activities of the society. It takes little time to find one’s way through this site, which is quick and simple to use. It is not updated regularly.

    - Society for the History and Archaeology of the Vaud (Société vaudoise d’histoire et d’archéologie)
    Language: French

    Founded on 3 December 1902, the Society for the History and Archaeology of the Vaud is open to everybody. The Society presents itself as apolitical, but participates in debate about Vaudoise identity and supports research. The only historical society concerned with the canton, it is an organisation with some influence. It was founded in preparation for the festivities to mark the first centenary of the existence of the canton of Vaud, to which it made a direct contribution. The Society currently boasts a little more than 850 members, from a wide variety of backgrounds, occasional amateurs as much as the interested, teachers, students, and professionals drawn from heritage management, and representatives of the communal and cantonal authorities, public and private institutions.

    Search facilities for the general contents of the Revue historique vaudoise, 1893-1952, et from 1953 to the present day. Although the journal itself is not digitised. Some links.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 10 March 2015 | 7 September 2009
    top of the page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Site Map | Latest articles | Private area | Legal info | About Ménestrel | ISSN : 2270-8928

Site Ménestrel

Médiévistes sur le net : sources, travaux et références en ligne

Navigation par mot-clé
Accueil > Lieux et acteurs > Suisse > Sociétés et associations

Sociétés et associations

  • Associations

    - Archéologie suisse (AS)

    Langues : allemand, français

    Archéologie Suisse est ouverte à toutes les personnes intéressées par l’archéologie en Suisse. Grâce à ses publications, mais aussi grâce à des excursions, des cours et des conférences, ses membres sont informés des recherches actuelles et de l’essentiel des connaissances sur la Préhistoire, l’Antiquité et le haut Moyen Âge en Suisse. Les principaux buts d’Archéologie suisse sont de réunir toutes les personnes intéressées à l’archéologie suisse, professionnels ou non, et de « contribuer à la recherche sur le patrimoine archéologique suisse ».
    Le site contient une description très précise de tous les organismes de l’association, avec portrait et coordonnées de ses membres (consulter). Il y a une section d’actualité, régulièrement remise à jour. Une section présente les publications de l’association (attention, certaines pages sont encore en construction) qui peuvent être obtenues grâce à un bulletin de commande en ligne. Depuis la page de liens, on peut arriver sur des pages qui sont en elles-mêmes des petits sites concernant divers groupes de travail associés à l’archéologie suisse. En règle générale, le site est très bien structuré, facile à parcourir et agréable à regarder. Un forum permet aux internautes de participer. Le site fournit également un moteur de recherche très utile qui, moyennant un peu de publicité, permet au visiteur de trouver des résumés d’articles de la Revue d’archéologie suisse (que l’on peut également commander en ligne). Le moteur de recherche fonctionne en allemand et en français, mais tous les articles ne sont pas forcément traduits dans les deux langues.

    - Association des archivistes suisses
    Langues : allemand, français, italien

    Ce site contient un agenda sur les activités de l’association, des pages intéressantes sur le métier d’archiviste et sur la formation (en allemand seulement) ainsi que des liens vers les différents moteurs de recherche archivistiques. L’AAS publie la revue Arbido. Une liste d’adresses des bureaux d’archives en Suisse peut également être très utile. Le graphisme est soigné et la navigation facile. Les coordonnées des membres de l’association sont disponibles sous la rubrique « Activités ».

    - Association Histoire et Informatique (HI)
    Langues : allemand, français

    Cette association « a pour objectif de promouvoir une utilisation qualifiée et appropriée de l’informatique dans la recherche historique, la formation et la documentation ».
    Le site en trois langues contient des informations sur l’organisation de l’association avec les noms (et éventuellement l’adresse Internet) de ses membres ainsi que des résumés au format pdf des ouvrages publiés. Il y a également une liste de liens et une section « membres ». Le site est simple et d’utilisation rapide.

    - Association suisse des châteaux et ruines - Schweizerischen Burgenverein
    Langue : allemand

    L’ergonomie est bonne. L’association s’occupe de culture médiévale et encourage la recherche pour ce qui concerne les bourgs, les églises et les centres habités d’époque médiévale. Elle publie chaque trimestre la revue Moyen Âge, qui est est téléchargeable (depuis 1996).

    - Association pour l’étude de l’histoire régionale (AEHR)
    Langue : français

    L’AEHR est une association rassemblant des historiens professionnels de formations diverses. Elle regroupe actuellement plus de 60 membres, spécialisés dans tous les domaines de l’histoire régionale. Elle veut développer les liens entre l’historien et le public en recourant à divers médias : livres, plaquettes, films, expositions, conférences, etc. Le site contient des informations sur l’association et sur ses publications. Les membres sont cités, mais la page ne fournit pas les coordonnées pour les contacter. Le site, disponible uniquement en français, est essentiellement une vitrine pour l’association et n’est pas en lui-même un outil utile. Il est cependant remis à jour avec une régularité.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 15 novembre 2010 | 10 octobre 2007
    Haut de page
  • Sociétés savantes

    - Liste des sociétés savantes sur le site de l’Académie suisse des sciences humaines et sociales
    Langues : allemand, français

    L’Académie suisse des sciences humaines et sociales (ASSH) est une association qui regroupe 54 sociétés savantes. De la littérature à la théologie, en passant par les sciences de la communication ou l’ethnologie, les sociétés membres représentent un large éventail de disciplines. L’ASSH fonctionne comme plate-forme pour la mise sur pied de projets communs et la diffusion de travaux à l’intérieur de la communauté des chercheurs. L’ASSH consacre une partie de son budget à l’encouragement des activités qui font vivre les sciences humaines et sociales en Suisse. Si les moyens à disposition restent modestes, l’ASSH défend une politique de soutien axée sur la relève et la présence des femmes dans les milieux académiques. L’ASSH organise régulièrement des rencontres publiques et des tables rondes sur des thèmes d’actualité.

    - Mémoires d’ici
    Langue : français

    « Mémoires d’ici conserve et met en valeur le patrimoine historique et culturel du Jura bernois. »
    Ce site au design agréable contient une foule d’informations. Malgré une présentation soignée, avec images, plans et photos, la navigation est rapide. La page est remise à jour de manière régulière. Seul bémol : le site n’est disponible qu’en français. Un catalogue, rapide et simple d’utilisation, donne accès à la bibliothèque du centre de recherche. Mémoires d’ici regroupe également les registres paroissiaux du Jura bernois et de Bienne. Une page explique comment se rendre sur place pour les consulter. De plus, le site donne l’accès en ligne à des dossiers intéressant l’histoire du Jura bernois. Un très bon site, fort utile et très bien constitué.

    - Société suisse d’Héraldique - Schweizerische Heraldische Gesellschaft - Società Svizzera di Araldica (SHG - SSH - SSA)
    Langues : allemand, français, italien

    Le site offre la possibilité de commander le bulletin semestriel de l’association « Archives héraldiques suisses ». Le site est disponible dans les trois langues nationales. Malheureusement toute information est payante et il y a peu de choses à télécharger. La qualité graphique du site est misérable (pas d’images, esthétique peu soignée). Intéressants sont les liens offerts, avec une couverture internationale.

    - Société suisse d’Histoire - Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Geschichte - Società Svizzera di Storia (SGG - SSH - SSS)
    Langues : allemand, français

    Depuis le 7 avril 2001, la Société suisse d’histoire (SSH) est le successeur au droit de la Société générale suisse d’histoire (SGSH) ; dans cette fonction, elle est l’interlocutrice et la source d’informations sur les manifestations et publications actuelles en matière de sciences historique en Suisse.

    Le site donne accès, en ligne, aux derniers numéros de la Revue suisse d’histoire qui fournit des informations sur les différents colloques et rencontres. Le visiteur a également accès à une base de données contenant des informations sur tous les mémoires de licence et dissertations en cours et terminés aux universités suisses dans les domaines de l’histoire, de l’histoire du droit, de l’histoire de l’Église et de l’histoire de la médecine du semestre d’hiver 2000-2001 jusqu’au semestre d’été 2005. Une autre base de données consiste en l’index de la Revue suisse d’histoire. Le site de la SSH contient également une rubrique « Archives » avec les comptes-rendus des derniers événements, ainsi qu’une page bien fournie de liens utiles. L’organigramme de la société informe sur les personnes qui la font fonctionner et donne les coordonnées nécessaires pour les contacter. La page web de la Société suisse d’histoire n’est malheureusement pas disponible dans les trois langues nationales et se limite à l’allemand et au français.

    - Société suisse de Numismatique - Schweizerische Numismatische Gesellschaft, Società Svizzera di Numismatica - Swiss Numismatic Society
    Langues : Site édité seulement en langue allemande, bien que la page d’accueil soit quadrilingue

    Panorama de la numismatique en Suisse. Information sur les activités de la société et les titres concernent les publications Revue suisse de Numismatique et Gazette numismatique suisse. Quelques téléchargements possibles. Liens intéressants.

    - Société d’histoire de la Suisse romande (SHSR)
    Langue : français

    La Société d’histoire de la Suisse romande encourage les recherches historiques et archéologiques originales sur la Suisse romande ; elle édite ou participe à la publication d’ouvrages d’histoire et d’archéologie propres à enrichir la connaissance du passé de la Suisse romande et des régions en relation avec elle.

    Le site contient une liste des publications de la société, qu’il est possible de commander en ligne. Il y a également une page présentant la structure de la SHSR ainsi que les informations pour en devenir membre (bulletin d’inscription en ligne). Une page propose aussi le programme des prochaines activités (malheureusement pas remis à jour) ainsi que quelques liens utiles pour les sites web d’autres sociétés savantes suisses. Le site est simple et facile d’accès, mais les ressources qu’il offre sont relativement limitées. C’est avant tout une vitrine pour la société d’histoire de la Suisse romande, plutôt qu’un véritable outil de travail. Le site ne se décline qu’en français.

    - Société d’histoire et d’archéologie du canton de Neuchâtel (SHAN)
    Langue : français

    Le comité de la société organise des colloques scientifiques, des animations - visites commentées, conférences, excursions - et édite une collection d’histoire neuchâteloise. La SHAN gère également des fonds issus de donations dont les revenus sont dédiés à la distribution de prix dans le domaine de l’histoire, de la littérature et de la peinture. Le site est essentiellement consacré à présenter les activités de la société. On a vite fait le tour de ce site Internet, qui permet une navigation simple et rapide. Les mises à jour ne suivent pas.

    - Société vaudoise d’histoire et d’archéologie
    Langue : français

    Fondée le 3 décembre 1902, la Société vaudoise d’histoire et d’archéologie est ouverte à tous ; elle se veut apolitique, mais participe au débat sur l’identité vaudoise et soutient la recherche. Seule société d’histoire à vocation cantonale, elle est une interlocutrice écoutée des autorités. Elle a été d’ailleurs fondée en prévision des festivités du premier centenaire de l’existence du canton de Vaud auxquelles elle a apporté sa contribution directe. Elle compte aujourd’hui un peu plus de 850 membres, appartenant à des milieux les plus divers, aussi bien des amateurs occasionnels que des passionnés, des enseignants, des étudiants, des professionnels de la gestion du patrimoine et des représentants des autorités communales et cantonales, d’institutions publiques et privées.

    Possibilité d’interrogation (moteur de recherche) dans les tables générales de la Revue historique vaudoise, 1893-1952, et de 1953 à aujourd’hui. Mais la revue n’est pas numérisée. Quelques liens.

    Jacques BERLIOZ, 10 mars 2015 | 22 octobre 2007
    Haut de page

  • Notes et adresses des liens référencés

rss | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Twitter | Retrouvez Ménestrel sur Facebook | Plan du site | Derniers articles | Espace privé | Mentions légales | Qui sommes-nous? | ISSN : 2270-8928